8th World Antimony Forum

TBD
Guiyang, Guizhou, China

12th Rare Earth Summit

TBD
Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China

11th Aluminum Raw Materials Summit

TBD
Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China

9th Magnesium Summit

TBD
Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China

13th World InBiGeGa Forum

TBD
Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China

7th World Antimony Forum

June 13-14, 2019
Changsha, Hunan, China

7th Refractory & Abrasive Materials Summit 2019

May 23-24, 2019
Qingdao, Shandong, China

10th Aluminum Raw Materials Summit

May 16-17, 2019
Zhengzhou, Henan, China

11th Rare Earth Summit

May 9-10, 2019
Qingdao, Shandong, China

8th Magnesium Summit

April 11-12, 2019
Zhuhai, Guangdong, China

12th World InBiGeGa Forum

March 14-15, 2019
Zhuhai, Guangdong, China
Tight bauxite supply and great potential
----Interview with Yongming Gao
Director, Secretary General
Lvliang Aluminum Industry Association (LAIA)
Established from 11 Jan 2017, LAIA was recognized by various aluminum enterprises in Lvliang. LAIA focus on building a platform for enterprises and government, which provides the connection service, posts aluminum market information and journals, hosts interchange conferences, etc.

Asian Metal: Hello, Mr. Gao! Thanks for accepting this interview. Please briefly introduce LAIA.

Mr. Gao: Established from 11 Jan 2017, LAIA was recognized by various aluminum enterprises in Lvliang. LAIA focus on building a platform for enterprises and government, which provides the connection service, posts aluminum market information and journals, hosts interchange conferences, etc.

Asian Metal: As one of the major aluminum manufacturing areas in China, how's the advantage and disadvantage of Lvliang?

Mr. Gao: Lvliang owns abundant bauxite and coal resources, which is the most important point. However, for now Lvliang mainly conducts the bauxite mining and alumina refining, and the downstream aluminum smelting and processing has not developed well. That is the major disadvantage of Lvliang's aluminum industry.

Asian Metal: How's the current condition of bauxite market in Lvliang?

Mr. Gao: The bauxite reserves are around 649 million tons in Lvliang, counting for 45.7% of Shanxi and about 1/6 of China. Now there are 67 bauxite enterprises in nice different Countries in Lvliang, of which 1/3 are state owned companies. Over the past few years, the environmental control policy became more and more strict, coupled with the nonstandard mining process, the bauxite supply remained short. Besides, the alumina capacity grew fast but no extra bauxite mining approval been issued, leading the problem be more serious. Most alumina plants started using imported bauxite for production from early this year.

Asian Metal: Due to the tight domestic bauxite supply, some alumina plants already finished the technical upgrading and used imported bauxite. How do you think the status?

Mr. Gao: Actually I don't think it is reasonable for alumina plants using imported bauxite in Lvliang. In my opinion, alumina enterprises should rely on the local bauxite resources to ensure competitiveness. As well, we forwarded the issue many times to local government and wish they could release more bauxite mining right. Besides, the resource tax in Lvliang (9%) is much higher than other regions like Henan (5%) or Inner Mongolia (7%). We hope government could provide some privilege on that.

Asian Metal: In Lvliang, there are now 10 alumina plants with a total production capacity of 15 million tons per year, counting for 17% of China. However, due to the strict environmental policy and high raw material prices, some of them are facing losses. What can LAIA do for that?

Mr. Gao: Presently most profits of aluminum industry are centralized in bauxite mining. We advise that alumina plants should combine with each other, and harmonize the relationship between government and enterprises, leading a win-win situation for both bauxite and alumina companies. In addition, alumina enterprises should strengthen the management and cost control, and develop other products like chemical-grade alumina to improve profitability.

Asian Metal: Now Lvliang only owns one aluminum smelter. Is there any possible to expand the aluminum capacity in the future?

Mr. Gao: The current preferential electricity cost in Lvliang is around RMB0.3/kWh (USD/kWh), which is lower than most other regions in China. LAIA and the local government are also making efforts together to rump up the aluminum capacity in Lvliang to 2 million tons per year in the coming 2-3 years.

Asian Metal: How's the current condition of aluminum downstream processing industries in Lvliang, and how LAIA can do to push the development of aluminum industry?

Mr. Gao: Lvliang owns six major aluminum industrial zones. Unfortunately, for now there are no large aluminum processing enterprises. Our local government attaches a great importance to the development of aluminum industries, and conducted many research on that. Now we devote inviting investment and promoting the development of aluminum industry in Lvliang. We would keep making effort on that, giving the best service to government and aluminum enterprises.

Asian Metal: Thanks for your shares and wish you have a great future!

Mr. Gao: Thank you and hope Asian Metal be better and better!

世界金属资讯中心 世界金属市场行情价格引领者
 
 
吕梁市铝工业上游供应问题突出 下游加工亟待发展
----专访高永明
综合办主任 秘书长
吕梁市铝行业协会
吕梁市铝行业协会成立于2017年1月11日,由吕梁地区涉铝企业组成的行业协会组织。协会主要服务于企业和政府,发挥桥梁和纽带的作用;我们的主要工作是为企业和政府提供行业信息服务,发布期刊,并定期举行业会议,为企业提供一个相互交流、合作互助的平台。

亚洲金属网:高主任您好,感谢受邀本次专访。请首先简要介绍一下贵协会的基本情况。

高主任:您好!吕梁市铝行业协会成立于2017年1月11日,由吕梁地区涉铝企业组成的行业协会组织。协会主要服务于企业和政府,发挥桥梁和纽带的作用;我们的主要工作是为企业和政府提供行业信息服务,发布期刊,并定期举行业会议,为企业提供一个相互交流、合作互助的平台。

亚洲金属网:吕梁市作为山西甚至全国最主要的铝工业产地,具有哪些优势及劣势?

高主任:吕梁地区拥有丰富的矿石资源,包括铝土矿和煤矿等,这是最主要的优势;但目前铝产业链主要集中在上游铝土矿、氧化铝行业,下游电解铝及铝加工产业缺失为我们吕梁最大的劣势。

亚洲金属网:目前吕梁地区铝土矿的现状如何?

高主任:吕梁的铝土矿资源保有储量约6.49亿吨,占山西省45.7%,占全国约六分之一。目前吕梁共有67家铝土矿企业,其中三分之一属于国有企业,分布在9个县市。近几年环保政策越来越严格,加之开采过程不规范,不科学,导致矿石供应严重短缺。此外近十年来吕梁没有新的矿权释放,但氧化铝的产能规模持续扩大,导致当地铝土矿资源供应持续紧缺,今年以来绝大部分氧化铝企业已经开始尝试使用进口铝土矿补充生产。

亚洲金属网:由于环保及其他因素,近年来当地铝土矿供应紧缺,部分氧化铝厂已进行技术改造并大规模使用进口铝土矿。您如何看待这一现状?

高主任:吕梁铝土矿资源丰富,但目前当地氧化铝企业面临矿石供应短缺,甚至使用进口矿生产,这一现象本身是不合理的。我认为氧化铝企业还是应当依托当地资源以保证竞争力。我们协会也多次向当地政府报告铝企业铝土矿资源保障的问题,希望政府能给氧化铝企业释放新的矿权;另一方面吕梁的铝土矿资源税较高(9%),高于其他地区(河南5%,山东7%),我们也倡议政府能在税率方面给予一定优惠和支持。

亚洲金属网:吕梁共有10家氧化铝企业,总产能1500万吨,约占全国的17%,产业规模巨大。但由于环保压力及原材料价格上涨等因素,部分企业经营困难。贵协会能为氧化铝企业提供哪些支持?

高主任:目前铝产业的利润大部分集中于上游矿石开采,我们协会致力于联合氧化铝企业报团取暖,我们也在积极协调政府和各企业,让氧化铝企业和铝土矿企业形成双赢局面。此外,氧化铝企业应该加强内部管理,降本增效,另一方面氧化铝企业可以扩展化学级氧化铝等产品,提高盈利水平。

亚洲金属网:相比于氧化铝,目前吕梁仅有一家电解铝企业,未来吕梁是否有继续扩大电解铝产能的可能性?

高主任:目前吕梁对电解铝企业的优惠电价在0.3元/kWh,在国内处于较低水平。我们协会和当地政府也在努力发展电解铝产业,争取在未来2-3年内年产能达到200万吨。

亚洲金属网:目前吕梁市的铝材等深加工产业现状及前景如何,以及贵协会将在未来如何发挥积极作用以推动行业发展?

高主任:吕梁目前有六大铝工业园区,但很遗憾的是,目前没有一家大规模铝加工企业。吕梁市政府十分重视铝产业的发展,也对各地方进行了多次调研,目前正在加强招商引资,这也是我们协会当前的工作重心。推动吕梁市铝行业发展任重而道远,我们将持续努力,为企业和政府做好服务。

亚洲金属网:感谢高主任的分享,祝贵协会蒸蒸日上!

高主任:谢谢!也祝亚洲金属网越办越好!