8th World Antimony Forum

TBD
Guiyang, Guizhou, China

12th Rare Earth Summit

TBD
Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China

11th Aluminum Raw Materials Summit

TBD
Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China

9th Magnesium Summit

TBD
Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China

13th World InBiGeGa Forum

TBD
Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China

7th World Antimony Forum

June 13-14, 2019
Changsha, Hunan, China

7th Refractory & Abrasive Materials Summit 2019

May 23-24, 2019
Qingdao, Shandong, China

10th Aluminum Raw Materials Summit

May 16-17, 2019
Zhengzhou, Henan, China

11th Rare Earth Summit

May 9-10, 2019
Qingdao, Shandong, China

8th Magnesium Summit

April 11-12, 2019
Zhuhai, Guangdong, China

12th World InBiGeGa Forum

March 14-15, 2019
Zhuhai, Guangdong, China
Making a leader of rare earth fluorides in China
----Interview with Liu Jianping
Deputy General Manager
Ganzhou Shilei Rare Earth Materials Co., Ltd.
Built in 2017, Ganzhou Shilei Rare Earth Materials Co., Ltd. is a high-tech company which engages in rare earth fluoride research, production and sales. We finished the construction of 1,000tpy rare earth fluorides production line for phase I and has put it into operation since 2018. The total investment reached 50.32 million yuan (7.19 million USD). The company covers an area of around 15 acres now and obtained the high-tech enterprise certification. Now it aims to build a leading company of rare earth fluorides in China.

Asian Metal: Hello, Mr. Liu! Thank you for accepting this interview from Asian Metal. Could you please introduce your company and your main business briefly?

Mr. Liu: Built in 2017, Ganzhou Shilei Rare Earth Materials Co., Ltd. is a high-tech company which engages in rare earth fluoride research, production and sales. We finished the construction of 1,000tpy rare earth fluorides production line for phase I and has put it into operation since 2018. The total investment reached 50.32 million yuan (7.19 million USD). My company covers an area of around 15 acres now and obtained the high-tech enterprise certification.

Asian Metal: Thank you for your introduction. Would you please give us a brief introduction of your career?

Mr. Liu: I have engaged in the rare earth industry for more than 10 years. I ever mainly traded rare earth oxides and rare earth fluorides and co-built Ganzhou Shilei Rare Earth Materials Co., Ltd. with Jiangxi Shilei Fluoride Materials Co., Ltd. in 2017. Now I focus on the rare earth fluoride products' research, production and sales work.

Asian Metal: Chinese rare earth metal industry faced a sharp expansion of new capacities throughout 2019, and the competition among suppliers became fiercer. With the construction and expansion of new capacities in Inner Mongolia, Sichuan, Guangxi, Jiangxi, Shandong and other provinces, do you think this change would promote the development of rare earth fluoride industry? Whether there are some impacts led by rare earth oxide and metal prices' ups and downs?

Mr. Liu: Rare earth resource and its industrial chain is an important part of China's national strategy, which would certainly achieve greater development. From the eyesight of rare earth industry, rare earth metal industry is the most important, in which uses rare earth fluorides. As a rare earth fluoride producer, we are glad to see the development of rare earth industry, especially the rare earth metal industry, and we would make every effort to meet the demand from different kinds of clients.
From the micro aspect of enterprise, rare earth fluoride prices mainly depend on processing costs of raw materials, but the processing fee is usually thin and relatively stable. No matter rare earth oxides from upstream or rare earth metals from downstream, their price fluctuations have no direct impact on rare earth fluoride prices.

Asian Metal: Mr. Liu, you have been active in the rare earth fluoride market for a long time. Could you please briefly introduce the current production capacity and supply and demand situation of rare earth fluoride products such as PrNd fluoride, dysprosium fluoride, terbium fluoride and yttrium fluoride?

Mr. Liu: Generally speaking, rare earth fluoride market is small segment for the rare earth industry. As it is usually supported internally in major rare earth metal enterprises or some small workshops provided the processing services for those companies, I am also hard to give the statistics data of the industry's capacity and market situation of supply and demand.
To be specific, the rare earth fluoride consumption differs from different metal production processes. For example, we use about 80kg PrNd fluoride for one ton of PrNd mischmetal production in molten salt electrolysis. Namely, the annual consumption for PrNd fluoride in China would be about 4,000t if we calculated with 50,000tpy of PrNd mischmetal output. However, for the yttrium metallothermic reduction production, all the raw materials is yttrium fluoride, so we need around 1.5t of yttrium fluorides to produce one ton of yttrium metal 99.9%min.

Asian Metal: As far as I am concerned, there are two main technique to produce rare earth fluoride, which are wet hydrofluoric acid process and dry hydrogen fluoride or ammonium hydrogen fluoride gas process. Which process do your company adopt? What are the advantages and disadvantages of these two processes? Which technology will lead the future development of the industry?

Mr. Liu: For a long time, the wet hydrofluoric acid process has been listed as the obsolete in the Industrial Restructuring Catalogue, which means that the process has been eliminated guided by the national industrial policy, so it is impossible to build new project using the process or legalize existing production facilities. On the other hand, as the ammonium hydrogen fluoride gas process, it is also difficult to solve the environmental problem.
Now our company adopts dry hydrogen fluoride gas process, using a DCS automatic system to control the entire process in a completely closed system. Firstly, we heat the high purity anhydrous hydrogen fluoride and evaporate it into gas, then carry out the fluoridation reaction with rare earth oxide under a specific condition. After that, we cool the product under the protection of high purity nitrogen gas. Then we remove the impurity, refine, package it and finally deliver to our clients. At the same time, the tail gas from the reaction is absorbed in water and it turns out to be hydrofluoric acid, which would be taken over by our group for the comprehensive utilization. Therefore, our rare earth fluoride process makes zero pollution and zero emission.

Asian Metal: As we know, fluorochemicals are often associated with dangerous chemicals. Under the current severe environmental protection atmosphere, what opportunities and challenges will bring to the rare earth fluoride industry from your side? What has your company done in terms of safety and environmental protection?

Mr. Liu: Safety and environmental protection are not only the bottom line that enterprises must keep, but also the lifeline of the survival of enterprises. We have been increasing investment in equipment and personnel since the planning of the company. The system design should be intrinsically safe, and the whole process should be zero pollution and emission. It turned out that our choice is correct. Ganzhou Shilei Rare Earth Materials Co., Ltd. has been the unique enterprise which owns legal procedures for rare earth fluoride production. Our company successfully passed the safety and environmental protection acceptance, obtaining the license of hazardous chemical materials safety production and the high-tech enterprise authentication, which really have the ability to provide professional, stable and reliable products and services to clients.
The fluoridation process is one of the 15 high-risk chemical processes along with chlorination and nitrification, etc., which has been key supervised by relevant departments of the government. There is no doubt that the production without legal production procedures and with the wet-process to produce rare earth has to exit. For practitioners, we must fully implement in accordance with national laws and regulations as well as industrial policies, or else the consequence of illegal production is extremely serious.

Asian Metal: Ganzhou Shilei Rare Earth Materials Co., Ltd. is one of subsidiaries of Jiangxi Shilei Group. Why your company choose Huichang as the location? How about your production quotas? Do you have some new development plans in the coming year?

Mr. Liu: We select Huichang as the site mainly from the following aspects: Firstly, as a chemical enterprise, the company must choose a professional chemical park in accordance with the requirements of national policies. And Huichang is a provincial chemical park for fluoride chemical industry in Jiangxi Province, which is a guarantee for the long-term development of the enterprise. Secondly, Ganzhou Shilei Rare Earth Materials Co., Ltd. have to rely on the Jiangxi Shilei group, not matter the high purity hydrofluoric acid raw material but also the hydrofluoric acid by-product, so that the group could provide the raw material and comprehensively utilize the by-product. Thirdly, Huichang is located at the junction of jiangxi, fujian and guangdong provinces. Choosing the site, we can rely on Ganzhou's rare earth resources and serve the downstream rare earth metal enterprises nearby.
By 2020, Ganzhou Shilei Rare Earth Co., Ltd. would fully operate 1,000t rare earth fluoride project. In the future, some enterprises which use wet hydrofluoric acid process and produce without legal procedures have to exit the market, so that we have more room to expand production. We are going to enlarge the rare earth fluoride production capacity to 5,000tpy in the future, aiming to build a leading company for rare earth fluorides all over the world.

Asian Metal: Recent years, both governments and industry participants call on extending industrial chain and increasing the added value for rare earth products. How do you feel this in practice?

Mr. Liu: The key to the future of rare earth industry lies in the expansion of applications. Rare earth fluoride is not only an essential raw material for rare earth metal production, but also a high value-added rare earth product. We are willing to develop new products and expand new application fields together with our cooperators in the rare earth industry.

Asian Metal: Would you like to share us some feelings on the market exploration and production?

Mr. Liu: First of all, our company is committed to meeting all the requirements of customers and seeking long-term and stable cooperation with them. Secondly, we are willing to develop some new materials, such as high purity yttrium fluoride, etc. If customers have demand for specific rare earth fluoride, we would like to discuss and research together. In addition, we focus more on high purity rare earth fluoride currently due to our product structure, for which we have invested a lot of funds to design and equip new fluoridation furnaces.

Asian Metal: Asian Metal is the authoritative platform for market information, and also provides the reference prices for rare earth industry. Could you give us some suggestions about our service? Thank you!

Mr. Liu: Asian Metal has been focused in the rare earth industry for around 20 years, thanks for your professional industrial information and price information, which let us practitioners benefit a lot. If possible, we are willing to cooperate with your platform to launch rare earth fluoride prices, which would provide a new observation aspect for the rare earth industry.

Asian Metal: Thanks, Mr. Liu! Asian Metal will carry your vision to provide the objective, professional and authoritative market information for the industry. Thanks again for your support and sharing! Wish you every success in your business!

Mr. Liu: Thank you! Let's work together!

世界金属资讯中心 世界金属市场行情价格引领者
 
 
打造中国领先的稀土氟化物企业
----专访刘建平
副总经理
赣州石磊稀土材料有限公司
赣州石磊稀土材料有限公司是一家专注于氟化稀土产品研发、生产、销售的高科技企业,公司成立于2017年,1,000吨氟化稀土/年项目一期2018年建成投产,项目总投资5,032万元,占地15亩,2019年获得高新技术企业认证。目前,该司致力于打造成为一家中国领先的稀土氟化物企业。

亚洲金属网:刘总,您好!非常感谢您接受亚洲金属网的专访,首先请简要介绍赣州石磊稀土的公司背景和主营业务。

刘总:赣州石磊稀土材料有限公司是一家专注于氟化稀土产品研发、生产、销售的高科技企业,公司成立于2017年,1,000吨氟化稀土/年项目一期2018年建成投产,项目总投资5,032万元,占地15亩,2019年获得高新技术企业认证。

亚洲金属网:感谢您对公司进行的介绍,下面能否介绍一下您本人的从业情况?

刘总:我进入稀土行业有十年了,原来主要从事稀土氧化物和稀土氟化物的贸易。2017年,与江西石磊氟材料有限公司合作创办了赣州石磊稀土材料公司,专注于氟化稀土产品研发、生产和销售。

亚洲金属网:纵观2019年,稀土金属行业产能急剧扩张,业内竞争白热化。随着内蒙古、四川、广西、江西、山东等省份部分工厂新建和扩产,您认为是否将带动稀土氟化物产业的发展?稀土氧化物和金属价格涨跌是否会对稀土氟化物价格产生影响?

刘总:稀土资源及产业链是我们国家战略的重要一环,必将得到更大的发展。从稀土产业自身而言,稀土金属是重中之重,而生产稀土金属又必须使用稀土氟化物。作为专注于氟化稀土产品的企业,我们当然乐见稀土行业的发展,特别是稀土金属行业产能的扩张,会尽全力满足客户的一切要求。
在企业微观层面,氟化稀土更多的属性在于来料加工,加工费是微薄的,上游稀土氧化物也好,下游稀土金属也好,其价格涨跌对稀土氟化物并没有直接的影响。

亚洲金属网:刘总长期活跃在稀土氟化物市场一线,请您简单介绍一下目前氟化镨钕、氟化镝、氟化铽和氟化钇等稀土氟化物产品的产能和供需状况?

刘总:稀土氟化物是个很小的细分市场,以往更多的是各大稀土企业内部配套,或者一些小型作坊式企业提供来料加工。因此,行业的产能和供需情况都很难统计,也缺乏权威的数据。
具体而言,熔盐电解和金属热还原工艺生产稀土金属对氟化稀土消耗量有所不同。以镨钕混合金属和金属钇为例:熔盐电解法生产镨钕混合金属,氟化镨钕的吨耗大致为80公斤;而金属热还原法生产金属钇,氟化钇的吨耗约为1.5吨。这意味,如果中国镨钕混合金属年产量为50,000吨,那么中国氟化镨钕年需求总量在4,000吨左右。

亚洲金属网:据了解,目前生产稀土氟化物主要有湿法氢氟酸工艺和干法氟化氢或氟化氢铵两种工艺,贵司采取哪种工艺?两种工艺有何优缺点?哪种工艺将代表行业未来发展趋势?

刘总:利用有水氢氟酸进行湿法氟化稀土的生产,长期以来一直被《产业结构调整目录》列为淘汰类,这意味着国家产业政策已明令淘汰或立即淘汰,新建项目或把现有生产装置合法化是不可能的。在干法氟化稀土生产工艺中,氟化氢铵法面对的环保问题也很难麻烦,很难根除。
石磊稀土公司生产氟化稀土使用的是干法氟化氢工艺,在完全密闭的系统内,利用DCS自动控制,先将高纯无水氟化氢加热蒸发为气体,在特定工艺条件下与稀土氧化物进行充分的氟化反应,反应结束后在高纯氮气保护下降温,最后除杂精制,包装出厂。同时,反应尾气经吸收后形成有水氢氟酸,交由母公司综合利用,真正实现了全过程零污染零排放。

亚洲金属网:赣州石磊稀土是江西石磊集团旗下企业之一,为何选址在会昌?目前产能和生产状况如何?今后有何发展规划?

刘总:选址会昌基于多方面的考量,一是石磊稀土公司作为化工企业,必须要按照国家政策的要求进入专业的化工园区。公司所在的会昌江西省氟盐化工产业基地是省级的化工园区,这是企业长期发展的坚实保证。二是因为可以充分利用母公司在氟化工产业的优势和人才,江西石磊集团是唯一同时拥有萤石和岩盐资源的企业,是中国重要的萤石精粉及氟化工生产企业之一,是赣州氟盐化工产业的首倡者。石磊稀土所需的高纯无水氟化氢原料由母公司下属企业生产,并且利用专用储罐区和专用管廊输送,副产的有水氢氟酸也交由母公司下属企业综合利用。三是会昌位于赣闽粤三省交界,可依托赣州的稀土资源,就近服务周边的下游稀土金属生产企业。
2020年,石磊稀土公司1,000吨氟化稀土项目将全面达产。未来,湿法氟化稀土及无合法生产手续企业退出将腾出一定市场空间,公司有意继续扩大投入,将氟化稀土产能扩大到5,000吨/年,巩固全球最大氟化稀土生产供应商的地位。

亚洲金属网:近年来,延伸产业链、增加稀土产品附加值是行业呼声,在实践中的您有何切身感受?

刘总:稀土产业的未来关键在于应用的拓展,下游需求大了,行业才会有更大的发展。稀土氟化物既是生产稀土金属必需的原料,其自身也是高附加值的稀土产品。我们愿意立足长远,与稀土行业的同仁一起研发新产品,拓展新领域。

亚洲金属网:能否请刘总谈谈在市场拓展方面的感受。

刘总:首先,石磊稀土公司的理念是致力于满足客户的一切要求,寻求长期稳定的合作。其次,我们也原意开拓一些新产品,比如高纯氟化钇等。如果客户对特定的稀土氟化物有需求,我们也愿意探讨。另外,我们目前的产品结构更多聚焦在高纯稀土氟化物,为此更是投入大量资金,自行设计、装备了新型氟化炉。

亚洲金属网:亚洲金属网作为稀土行业的“第三方”资讯平台,也是行业内相关产品价格参考方,对亚洲金属网稀土市场信息服务,请刘总谈谈您的看法并提出宝贵建议?

刘总:感谢亚洲金属网长期以来对稀土行业的关注,专业的行业资讯和价格信息让我们这些从业者受益匪浅。如果有机会,我们愿意配合亚洲金属网推出稀土氟化物的价格信息,为稀土行业观察提供一个新的角度。

亚洲金属网:谢谢刘总,亚洲金属网将承载您的愿景踏实前行,为业内企业提供客观、专业和权威的第三方资讯。非常感谢刘总的分享,期待稀土行业繁荣发展!谢谢您对亚洲金属网的支持,祝贵司发展蒸蒸日上!

刘总:谢谢!大家共同努力!