8th World Antimony Forum

Jun 11-12, 2020
Guiyang, Guizhou, China

12th Rare Earth Summit

May 18-19, 2020
Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China

11th Aluminum Raw Materials Summit

May 14-15, 2020
Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China

9th Magnesium Summit

TBD
Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China

13th World InBiGeGa Forum

TBD
Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China

7th World Antimony Forum

June 13-14, 2019
Changsha, Hunan, China

7th Refractory & Abrasive Materials Summit 2019

May 23-24, 2019
Qingdao, Shandong, China

10th Aluminum Raw Materials Summit

May 16-17, 2019
Zhengzhou, Henan, China

11th Rare Earth Summit

May 9-10, 2019
Qingdao, Shandong, China

8th Magnesium Summit

April 11-12, 2019
Zhuhai, Guangdong, China

12th World InBiGeGa Forum

March 14-15, 2019
Zhuhai, Guangdong, China
Prices of calcium silicon hover at low level in H1 2020
----Interview with Zhang Ruipeng
General sales manager
Ke Tong New material Tech Co., Ltd.
As one of the major producers in China engaging in calcium silicon and other special alloys production in 2004, Ke Tong New Material Tech Co., Ltd has good reputation both in domestic and international market for reliable quality of CaSi, and its annual producing capacity could reach 42,000t,ranking in the top tier suppliers in the world. They were awarded the national invention patent for the "mixed production method of calcium silicon with large sized furnace" in 2010, and currently they are authorized to use four patents and have three staffs with PHD working in their company.

Asian Metal: Thank you for joining our interview, Mr. Zhang, and please briefly introduce your company.

Mr. Zhang: Ningxia Ke Tong new material is a producing and trading company of calcium silicon alloys which was established 15 years ago. We have three furnaces of 30,000kva to produce 3,600t of calcium silicon monthly with all of them running now. Our export business accounts for half of our business. We also export inoculants which accounts for around 15% of our whole business. According to our clients' inspection results, our calcium purity could reach 31%min and silicon purity could reach 61%min.

Asian Metal: What's the current production cost for calcium silicon 30-60?

Mr. Zhang: For producing calcium silicon, we use semi coke, soft coal, CaCO3, electrode paste and power. The power cost accounts for about 60% of the overall cost. We currently sell CaSi 30-60 at RMB9,400-9,600/t (USD1,367-1,396/t) EXW D/A (late December), and the profit is around RMB300-400/t (USD43-57/t) now.

Asian Metal: Are there any technical barriers in producing calcium silicon as you're using the very common raw materials?

Mr. Zhang: Even though some companies tried to produce calcium silicon with their advantages of the lower cost of raw material, it's difficult for them to control the temperature, and raw material ratio without accumulated producing experiences, leading to frequently sudden short circuit.

How about the local and overseas demand performances in 2019 of your company?

Mr. Zhang: The overall demand slipped in 2019, especially from the second half of 2019.  Upon the shrinking demand from local steel mills, our monthly sales volume in domestic market decreased by 20-30% YOY since the second half of 2019. And synchronously, overseas demands from core wire plants decreased as well for about 30-40%. Taking December for example, we accepted orders about 1,200t from local market and 1,000t from overseas market.

Asian Metal: There are some calcium silicon plants in South America, and how do you compare the pros and cons between the South American and Chinese calcium silicon?

Mr. Zhang: Firstly, Brazilian producers are using wood carbon to smelt calcium silicon, and the aluminum purity is between 0.6-0.8%max. While Chinese producers use semi coke to produce calcium silicon with 1.5%max of aluminum purity. The aluminum purity of the products from Ke Tong could be controlled as low as 1.0%max with the same purity for other elements as Brazilian calcium silicon. Secondly, they're using water to generate power, and the electricity cost is much lower than Chinese power cost. But there are only three producers in South America, and their producing capacity in total is smaller than Chinese capacity. The whole annual capacity for five Chinese producers could reach 100,000-120,000t. Thirdly, it takes as long as six years for the Brazilian producers to do regular furnaces maintenances, while, Chinese producers need to do overhauls within 2 years.

Asian Metal: what's your predication of calcium silicon price trend in 2020?

Mr. Zhang: Due to the sluggish demand from steel mills and foundries, the current price touched the lowest point in the past two years. It's oversupplied in China upon high operation rate, and we believe the price will keep hovering at the current level till May

Asian Metal: What's the direction for your company's further development in 2020?

Mr. Zhang: We will continue to expand our market shares internationally and domestically, and enlarge our nodular business in 2020, improving our competitiveness by diversifying products.

Asian Metal: Thank you for your time, and best wishes for Ke Tong.

 
Mr. Zhang: Best wishes for Asian Metal!

• 镁锭 99.9%min 中国未税离岸(1400)  09-22|镁锭 99.9%min 鹿特丹仓库(1500)  09-22|镁锭 99.9%min 中国离岸(1400)  09-22|镁锭 99.95%min 中国出厂(8500)  09-22|镁合金 AZ91D FOB 中国离岸(1400)  09-22|镁粉 99.9%min 中国出厂(8500)  09-22|镁合金 AZ91D 中国出厂(8500)  09-22|镁锭 99.9%min 中国出厂(8000)  09-22|镁粉 99.9%min 中国离岸(1300)  09-22|硅粉 99%min 中国交到(2000)  09-22|金属硅 5-5-3 中国交到(2000)  09-22|镁锭 99.9%min 印度港口(30)  09-22|镁锭 99.9%min 俄罗斯仓库(30)  09-22|金属硅 4-4-1 中国交到(2000)  09-22
  • 
    • 基 本 金 属
    • 小 金 属
    • 铁 合 金
    • 稀 土 金 属
    • 耐 火 材 料
    • 炼 钢 原 料
    • 普 通 钢 材
    • 不 锈 钢 材
    • 特 殊 钢 材
    
    
    2020年上半年硅钙价格持续低位徘徊
    ----专访张芮鹏
    销售总经理
    宁夏科通新材料科技有限公司
    宁夏科通新材料科技有限公司是中国最早从事硅钙合金和其他特种合金生产、加工及贸易一体的企业之一,公司成立于2004年3月,其硅钙产品质量受到国内外客户的广泛认可,其硅钙年产量可达42,000吨,位于世界前列。2010年“硅钙合金大炉型混合生产法”获得国家发明技术专利。目前用于4项授权发明专利,引进博士生3人。

    亚洲金属网:感谢张总接受亚洲金属网专访,请简单介绍贵公司及业务。

    张总:本公司最初在上世纪90年代初开始配合广州钢铁集团销售建筑用钢筋,后又与韶钢、湘钢和桂鑫等钢厂合作,现主要经营建筑用钢材的销售,针对项目有大小型基建工程,框架加固及部分工业厂房的建设。为项目提供产品销售、物流配送及远近期市场价格波动的意见供客户参考。

    亚洲金属网:当前硅钙60-30成本在什么水平?

     
    张总:我们目前硅钙60-30国内售价在9,400-9,600元/吨出厂承兑,利润在300-400元/吨,较微薄。原材料这块主要是兰炭、烟煤、硅石、石灰石、电极糊、电耗,电费占整个成本60%上下。
     

    亚洲金属网:这些原材料比较常见,生产过程中有技术壁垒吗?

    张总:很多企业也想结合成本优势生产硅钙,但是如果没有长期的生产经验,炉子温度、配料、很不好控制,控制不好会导致炉底炉渣容易存积,导致频繁死炉。
     

    2019年贵公司国内外客户需求如何?

    张总:2019年整体需求下滑。由于钢厂下半年需求下滑,国内需求较2018年下滑至少20-30%,国外订单也有相同幅度下滑。拿12月份来说,国内订单1,200吨左右,国外订单1,000吨左右,较往常缩减有30-40%。

    亚洲金属网:在南美也有几家硅钙厂,您怎么看南美硅钙厂家及中国硅钙厂家的优劣势?

     
    张总:首先,南美硅钙是用木炭冶炼铝含量能在0.6-0.8%max之间,中国的硅钙是用兰炭冶炼,铝含量1.5%max左右,这是中国硅钙厂的劣势,但科通的硅钙铝含量能达到1.0%max以下,其他元素含量指标都一样。其次,南美硅钙厂水力发电,成本比我们低很多,但南美只有三家硅钙厂,产量有限,国内5家企业大炉子年产能在10-12万吨。再次,巴西硅钙炉子正常运转的话6年检修一次,而国内则2年需要检修一次。
     

    亚洲金属网:明年硅钙价格您怎么看?

    张总:由于钢厂及铸造厂需求疲软,目前价格处于过去两年最低位。中国硅钙厂家开工率依然高位,整体上供大于求。预计到2020年5月份之前价格都会维持现状。

    亚洲金属网:贵公司2020年进一步深入发展方向?

     
    张总:2020年主要还是扩大国内外硅钙市场份额,并加大球化剂孕育剂的市场开拓力度,争取产品多元化,以提高竞争力。

    亚洲金属网:感谢张总接受专访,祝科通事业蒸蒸日上。

    张总:祝亚洲金属网越办越好!